Men’s Slalom – Madonna di Campiglio 2016

Men's Slalom - Madonna Di Campiglio

This will be the 34th men’s World Cup Slalom in Madonna Di Campiglio. Ingemar Stenmark (5), Alberto Tomba (3) and Finn Christian Jagge (2) have recorded multiple wins in men’s Slaloms in Madonna Di Campiglio. The last 12 Slalom World Cup races here have been won by 12 different men (since 1992). Henrik Kristoffersen won the Slalom in Madonna Di Campiglio last year and can now join Stenmark (1979/80-1980/81) and Tomba (1987/88-1988/89) in winning the Slalom event here in consecutive seasons. In the three Slalom World Cup races since the event returned to Madonna Di Campiglio in 2012 after a seven-year absence (2005- 2012), only Marcel Hirscher and Felix Neureuther managed to claim two podium finishes. Both skiers won once and finished second once.

Marcel Hirscher has won 19 Slalom World Cup races and he can become the seventh man to win 20+ World Cup races in a single discipline after Ingemar Stenmark (46 Giant Slalom, 40 Slalom), Alberto Tomba (35 Slalom), Franz Klammer (25 Downhill), Ted Ligety (24 Giant Slalom), Hermann Maier (24 Super G) and Michael Von Grünigen (23 Giant Slalom). Hirscher has also won 19 Giant Slalom World Cup races. Hirscher is the only skier to finish on the podium in both Slalom World Cup races this season, winning in Levi and finishing second in Val d’Isère.

Henrik Kristoffersen won the last Slalom, in Val d’Isère on 11 December, and he can now win two Slalom races in a row. He was also the last skier to achieve this when he won four consecutive Slalom World Cup races in January 2016. Kristoffersen can win his 11th Slalom World Cup race. The only Norwegian man to have won more World Cup races in a single discipline is Aksel Lund Svindal who won 15 races in Super G and 12 in Downhill. Lasse Kjus has won 10 Downhill World Cup races.

Florian Eisath took third place in the men’s Giant Slalom in Alta Badia on Sunday 18 December. He can now become the first Italian to claim a Slalom victory on home snow since 12 December 2005, when Giorgio Rocca won in Madonna Di Campiglio. Patrick Thaler (38) and Julien Lizeroux (37) could become the oldest men to finish on a podium in a Slalom World Cup. Thaler currently has this honour, as he finished third in the Slalom in Kitzbühel at age 35 years and 307 days on 24 January 2014.

On the last five occasions Alexander Khoroshilov finished on the podium in a Slalom World Cup race, he came in third (including on 11 December at Val d’Isère). In total he has six third place finishes in the Slalom and one win, in Schladming in January 2015.

PredictionAlexander Khoroshilov || Podium Finish : Yes
Odds: 5.00 Bet365